At around 2:42 a.m. on Friday, September 7th, according to reports made by Sgt. Andrew Meyers, a member of the Beverly Hills Police Department, the accident occurred on Doheny Dr. and Santa Monica Blvd. Post Malone’s white Rolls-Royce was being driven by his assistant with him being in the passenger’s seat. Several individuals were treated at the scene of the accident, but thankfully no one was seriously injured.
The Rolls Royce crashed into a Kia winding up in some shrubs after smashing through a fence. Post Malone, the 23-year old rapper, took the time before leaving the crash site to speak to a local television news channel. Post Malone stated, “First almost a plane than almost a car. God must be trying to kill me.”
The $323,000 white Rolls-Royce was left severely damaged after the incident and had to be towed from the scene. Both vehicles were towed, but before Post’s vehicle was taken, he was seen climbing onto the vehicle and posing. After the accident, the hip hop star was seen smoking a cigarette and talking with the authorities on the scene, appearing unharmed.
No major injuries were reported, and all individuals involved were said to be extremely cooperative. No tickets were written for any infractions, and no alcohol or drugs are said to be involved, according to a police spokesperson. It is unclear what caused the accident.
A series of unfortunate events have befallen the hip hop star Post Malone, whose actual legal name is Austin Richard Post, since August 21. This car accident came just two weeks after the private jet he was on was forced to make an emergency landing after two of the tires exploded in the take-off process. After the incident with the plane, Post was shocked to find “how many people wished death on me on this website”. He then tweeted his thanks to those that offered their prayers as well as tweeting, “God must hate me lol.”
The rapper was on his way to the Reading and Leeds festival in the UK when the plane incident occurred. The aircraft then had to circle the skies for hours to burn off additional fuel before attempting to make an emergency landing.
Then days later, he had to deal with reports of his former San Fernando Valley home being broken into by robbers that still believed he was living there. This is according to police sources who spoke to TMZ. Three male suspects, on September 1st, broke into the home, and the person living there was pistol-whipped.
Allegedly, one of the three suspects yelled, “Where’s Post Malone?”, then took $20,000 worth of cash and other items. The rapper, however, had luckily moved out of that home months before the incident.
No spokesperson for Post Malone could be reached for any further comment on the accident.
What to Do After a Car Accident in California
Now you may be wondering what happens after you are in a car accident in California. How you can get your medical bills, obtain funds for pain and suffering damages, and get medical bills and car repairs paid. What you do after an accident can also help you from getting your driver’s license suspended for violating California law.
The steps you make after an accident are able to greatly affect your rights, even if you are the one at fault. We, as California personal injury lawyers, recommend the following steps if you find yourself in an auto accident in California.
Here are our recommendations:
- Stay at the scene of the accident.
- If needed, seek medical attention.
- Do not, under any circumstances, admit any fault.
- Be sure to document your injuries.
- If it is possible to not report an accident, do so.
- If you are able to take photos at the scene of the accident.
- Report the accident to the California DMV
- Do not say that you are not injured.
- Be sure you report your version of the accident as soon as possible.
- Move to a safer location, if possible.
- Exchange your contact information with witnesses and other drivers.
- Inform your insurance company of the accident.
- If the other vehicle or the property that was damaged is unoccupied, leave your contact information.
- Be sure to record information about the other vehicle.
- Take time to decide whether or not you should get a California personal injury lawyer to assist you with your case.
Breaking Down Our Recommendations
Let’s go over some of these in a little more in detail.
Unless you are in need of immediate medical assistance, remain at the scene of the accident in the event anyone was injured or killed. You can be charged with a California hit and run. Penalties for this can be up to a year in jail and/or up-to a $10,000 fine, with more being possible if someone is seriously injured or killed.
You are allowed to leave the accident legally if harm was only done to physical property after you have identified yourself to any parties that are involved. If you fail to identify yourself, this is considered a California misdemeanor hit and run. Penalties for this can be up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
Do not wait for the police to arrive if you need immediate medical assistance. If possible, be sure to leave contact information with any other drivers.
If you are able to move your vehicle to the side of the road, or anywhere out of the road, it is recommended you do so. If your vehicle is blocking traffic, it can cause additional accidents otherwise.
If you are able to, it is a good idea to gather the following information on all vehicles involved.
- License plate numbers
- Year, make, model and color of the other vehicle
- Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
This information listed above is necessary in order to legally report the accident to the California DMV. However, if another driver is not cooperating, do not bother with getting their information as it can cause more harm than good.
It is a good idea to exchange contact information with any witnesses or drivers involved in the accident. Ask them if you can see their registration, insurance card, and driver’s license. If you are able to take a photo of this information, if not, simply write down this information.
It is always important that you do not admit any wrongdoing, even if you think you may be at fault in an accident. You may be wrong, or the other driver may be partially at fault under California’s shared fault/comparative negligence law.
Never say you are not injured after a crash, not all injuries are immediately apparent.
Taking photos at the scene of the accident, when possible, is a good way to help determine what occurred. Photos are also a helpful way to prove the damages you sustained after an accident. You should also have documentation of any injuries you sustained from the accident.
It is helpful to write down all details you remember about the accident, as soon as you are able to. The details of events fade as the shock wears off, so the sooner you can gather information, the better.
A few helpful details to record are:
- The date and time the incident occurred
- The direction each vehicle was traveling
- The exact location of the accident
- The best estimate of the speed of each vehicle involved
- Colors of the traffic lights that were visible
- Conditions of the road (such as bad weather, if any, or any potholes, etc.)
It is required by law that the California Department of Motor Vehicles is notified within ten days of an incident if any of the following occurred:
- Any person/s were injured, even minor injuries count
- More than $1,000 of damages occurred
- Any person/s were killed in the incident
California is one of only two states in the US where it is legally prohibited for auto insurers to raise their rates after an accident if the accident was not the fault of the policyholder. Early reporting provides a better opportunity for you to defend your injury claim in any accident case.
The only time you should not report an accident was when no other driver was involved, and your vehicle only had minor damage you can pay out of pocket to repair or is not worth worrying about.